My Cart

Close

Mike Zagurski

Bio

My names Mike Zagurski. I’m 23 years old and am a full time high school special education teacher and coach baseball as well. I compete in men’s physique and just turned Pro in October 2019.
 
Growing up I’ve always had a heart to serve others. God blessed me with the patience and ability to impact people of all ages with disabilities ranging from Down syndrome to autism and more. This population has my whole heart and soul. I've worked with students who are blind, deaf, students with seizure disorders, and have seen just about everything. It has changed me and continues to make me a more compassionate human. I’ve been a member of both Best Buddies in both high school and college, as well as the autism awareness club. Additionally, I began the “Challenger Program” for Naperville Little League; a program which gives kids with disabilities within the age range from 6-17 to participate in organized buddy-style baseball games.
 
I didn’t get into fitness until around the age of 20. Being 6’3, I’ve always been a tall and skinny guy. Though I never verbalized it to my friends and family, I never liked it and it always bothered me. My childhood and teen years were unique. When I was in middle school, a childhood friend of mine at the time lost his older sister in a tragic way. Both my life and my perception of the world changed. I was mad at the world and found myself coping years later through poor choices and hanging out with the wrong crowd throughout high school and some of college. I did a lot of dumb things throughout those years and hit rock bottom in 2015 when I found myself in trouble for the second time and had to face some consequences that made me want to change my life.
 
That’s when a good friend and college roommate of mine got me to start going to the gym with him. I started to truly enjoy it and it wasn’t long until it just became a habit. I love it. I now prioritize and look forward to getting that time in to myself everyday.
 
At the end of 2018, one of my new years resolutions was to challenge myself and do something out of my comfort zone. This is when I decided to start prepping for my first NGA men’s physique competition. I took 2nd overall in my first show. I loved the process preparing for it. Reflecting on that experience I felt as if it was something I could be really good at in the long run if I really dedicated myself to the sport. It’s a lot of fun and its a constant challenge for me. I've always had a very addictive personality, and I found an addiction that doesn’t harm me.
 
In October 2019, I competed in Wisconsin at the NGA P4P natural championships. I won my novice class, heavyweight class, and overall obtaining my pro card in the NGA. It was an extremely special and rewarding moment having my family there. I also qualified for the Pro Universe show in Florida for fall 2020.
 
I’m only 23 years young. While I do have a lot of time ahead of me, there’s also a lot of work to be done. I want to help and educate others on how they can live a healthy and balanced life. I firmly believe you are not living your best life if you're not living a healthy one. The confidence, self-love, and overall positivity that flows from it will trickle into all areas of life. Not only do you become happier and healthier throughout the process, but you're ability to impact others grows as well.
 
Some of my fitness related goals include winning the NGA Pro Universe by the age of 27 and placing top 3 at IPE worlds before I turn 30. Long term, I aspire to become one of the few natural IFBB pros. It’s going to be heck of a challenge, but I’m ready to put the work in and will never throw in the towel.
 
I refuse to ever feel sorry for myself or make excuses. I will dedicate my life to serving others, working hard at whatever it is I do, making an impact and being the CEO of my own life. It is my prayer that you reading this can do the same for yourself too.

Q&A

Q: What is your favorite flavor of Protein?
A: I love cereal flavored proteins. Especially ones with cereal pieces in it. Cinnafun Toast or Crazy Pebbles always hits the spot.

Q: What is your daily supplement stack?
A: As I’m currently in my off season, my coach and I are working to put on some size. I'm currently using Isolate protein, Creatine HCL, and Post-Gainz.

Q: Favorite Workout?
A: My favorite day in the gym has to be back day. I personally love heavy pull movements and feel that I can make the best mind-muscle connection there. Contrary to most guys, I hate hitting arms. Something I’m working on!

Q: Favorite Gym?
A: There’s definitely some more known gyms on my list that are not in IL that when I can travel down to the Miami area or West coast, I’d love to experience. But I’ve been a member of Lifetime fitness for years. I need a gym with a sauna and steam room. It’s a must!

Q: Who has been your biggest influence in fitness?
A: I'm 100% natural and will remain natural for life. Nothing against those who chose to go the enhanced route, it just isn't for me. Guys like Chris Elkins, IFBB Pro Josh Bowmar and Julian Smith hands down would have to be some of my biggest influences. Those dudes have built incredible physiques and are constantly sharing their knowledge with no charge. 1st phorm athlete Mike Counihan would be another. I got a lot of love and respect for our law enforcement and first responders!

Q: Anything else anyone may want to know about you?
A: I’m a serious and competitive dude, but those who really take the time to get to know me know I have a huge heart, love doing right by others, and can be a pretty sarcastic guy. I love to make people laugh.